My Journey to Health



Monday, May 23, 2011

Another Monday! I love Monday’s. I have all my points and I feel really ambitious. So, I am now at 174.8 lbs, so that means only 9.8 lbs to go until goal now…again. But I really feel more resolved this time to do it. No more messing around!
Goals for the week:
-TRY to get in around 45 minutes of any sort of activity daily. This hopefully will be easier to do over the summer because my schedule will be a little more set. It really helps me to have a routine. I am not a fan of ‘spur of the moment’ activity. I need more time to brace myself for it, I think. So I know that if I am doing it every day first thing in the morning, or right after work, or something along those lines, that is when I am more likely to stick to it. I also plan to go check out the YMCA for a place to exercise over the summer. It is nice to have air conditioning! Also, I think I need to try some new activities, etc. Just can’t seem to stay into anything for too long.
-Drink at least 6 cups of water daily.
-Try more new awesome recipes! Also, I want to try to make at least one that is just my invention this week, and not from a recipe book.
-Measure and track everything!
-Limit my junk food intake to only one item per day.

Today’s Menu:
Breakfast: 2/3 cup Eating Right chocolate cranberry granola, 2/3 cup fat free milk. A pear. Coffee with Splenda and a splash of fat free milk.
Snack: Carbmaster yogurt. A small cantaloupe. 1/2 ear of grilled corn.
Lunch:
Garden Stuffed Portabella Mushroom

(Just experimenting with this one, because I wanted to create my own recipe, but didn’t want to subject anyone but myself to this if it’s not very good.)
1/8 cup each of chopped green bell pepper, sweet yellow onion, and any type of tomato (I used roma)
1/2 large jalapeno, seeds removed
1 tsp fresh minced oregano
1/2 tsp fresh minced rosemary
1/2 oz fat free feta cheese
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp olive oil
black pepper to taste
1/8 cup low fat mozzarella cheese
1 large portabella mushroom, rinsed and stem removed

Preheat oven to 400F. Mix all ingredients (except mozzarella cheese and mushroom) together in a bowl to make filling. Place filling in mushroom cap. Top with 1/8 cup mozzarella cheese. Bake for 30ish minutes, until green peppers and onion are softened, and cheese is melted and golden.
This was really good and I enjoyed it more than the portabella mushroom pizzas that we make. My cheese topping was a little bit more than ‘golden brown,’ but it was still delicious! Hooray to winging it and making my own recipe with my own measurements of things.
To go with this, I had a green salad with chopped carrots and 1 Tbsp dried cranberries. I used the liquid that came from the stuffed mushroom as dressing. Also, 10 whole wheat crackers.
Snack: A light string cheese stick and fruit salad. A sucker.
Dinner: Beef Steak Ranchero (about 4 oz of), home-made by my mother-in-law. Super tasty! With this, 2 corn tortillas, 1 cup homemade Spanish rice, 1/4 cup pinto beans, and lots more fruit.
Dessert: 1/2 cup no sugar added reduced fat chocolate ice cream.
Snack: 10 whole wheat crackers. 3/4 cup Oh’s cereal, dry.
Today’s Exercise: I didn’t get any in today! Frown!
Fluid Intake: I drank enough! Hooray!


Leave a comment